Cairnie Named OCAA Coach of the Year

Cairnie Named OCAA Coach of the Year

PETERBOROUGH, Ont. - Seneca College's Saffara Whiteley-Hoffelner (Richmond Hill) is the 2017 Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) Women's Rugby Sevens Player of the Year. She received the award in a ceremony held in Peterborough, Ont., on Friday evening.

The fifth-year centre was third in OCAA scoring this past regular season, scoring seven tries while contributing 26 converts in 15 matches. She is also an OCAA All-Star.

Whiteley-Hoffelner's teammate Julia Fantin (Collingwood) is the OCAA Rookie of the Year. The fly half was seventh in OCAA scoring with 14 tries and two converts totalling 74 points.

Seneca's Jeremy Cairnie is the OCAA Coach of the Year. Cairnie's squad showed considerable improvement from last year, finishing in second place with a record of 11-5. Seneca was 8-8 last season.

Humber's Christina Branch (Oshawa) is the OCAA Scoring Champion, scoring 20 tries while booting 40 converts for a new single season record of 180 points, doing this in just a dozen matches.

Each team nominates two OCAA All-Stars. This year's OCAA All-Stars include Algonquin's Taylor Bray (Metcalfe) and Deleshia Dixon (Ottawa); Conestoga's Nicole Clark (Cambridge) and Kyla Vanderslagt (Sarnia); Fleming's Jacinta Addai-Sarfo (Bradford) and Erin Gawley (Peterborough); Humber's Cheyenne De Luca (Etobicoke) and Daniella Grant (Stouffville); Loyalist's Kierstyn Bennett (Wellington) and Rachel Mallette (Belleville); Mohawk's Loramhel Mateo (Niagara Falls) and Meghan Tylak (Brantford); St. Lawrence-Kingston's Evelyn Le Blancq (Lansdowne) and Victoria McOuatt (Arnprior); Seneca's Sarah Givens (Harrowsmith) and Whiteley-Hoffelner; and Sheridan's Carah Hager (Brantford) and Dara Killoran (Cobourg).


OCAA Women's Rugby Sevens Player of the Year
Saffara Whiteley-Hoffelner, Seneca

OCAA Women's Rugby Sevens Rookie of the Year
Julia Fantin, Seneca

OCAA Women's Rugby Sevens Coach of the Year
Jeremy Cairnie, Seneca

OCAA Women's Rugby Sevens League Scoring Champion
Christina Branch, Humber

OCAA Regular Season Champion
Humber Hawks

OCAA Women's Rugby Sevens League All-Stars
Taylor Bray, Algonquin
Deleshia Dixon, Algonquin
Nicole Clark, Conestoga
Kyla Vanderslagt, Conestoga
Jacinta Addai-Sarfo, Fleming
Erin Gawley, Fleming
Cheyenne De Luca, Humber
Daniella Grant, Humber
Kierstyn Bennett, Loyalist
Rachel Mallette, Loyalist
Loramhel Mateo, Mohawk
Meghan Tylak, Mohawk
Evelyn Le Blancq, St. Lawrence-Kingston
Victoria McOuatt, St. Lawrence-Kingston
Sarah Givens, Seneca
Saffara Whiteley-Hoffelner, Seneca
Carah Hager, Sheridan
Dara Killoran, Sheridan

Source: OCAA Communications